Skip to Content

Hello, welcome to STV. Login or create a new account

Donate Now

Download a fundraising pack here.
Download a fundraising pack here.

Twitter Updates

Facebook friends

Latest News

The STV Appeal has been nominated for a top charity award

The STV Appeal has been nominated for a top charity award

The STV Appeal is shortlisted in the Campaign of the Year category of the Scottish Charity Awards. This prestigious nomination comes days after the launch of this year’s Appeal by singer Amy Macdonald and futher recgonition of the Appeal at the JustGiving Awards 2012 where it won the Vodafone Mobile Fundraiser of the Year award

The Scottish Charity Awards 2012, organised by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO), celebrates the vital work of charities across Scotland.

The STV Appeal, launched last year, is committed to raising funds to alleviate the poverty that affects young people in Scotland.

SCVO chief executive Martin Sime said: “The excellent quality of entries this year made for a difficult shortlisting process but it demonstrates the dedication of people working and volunteering in third sector organisations across the length and breadth of Scotland.

“These people relentlessly go above and beyond the call of duty and make a huge difference to our communities. The Scottish Charity Awards celebrate the huge effort that takes.”

This year for the first time, the Scottish Charity Awards is including a People's Choice vote where the public can have a say about what their favourite is from the shortlist.

The Scottish Government has once again agreed to match the total amount raised by the STV Appeal.

Richard Findlay, STV and STV Appeal Chairman said: “We have a huge amount of activity planned for 2012 and hope to raise even more than the £1.3m raised last year.  The STV Appeal is now firmly established as a force for good and recognised as one that is truly committed to making a real difference to children affected by poverty in Scotland.”


The Scottish Charity Awards winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony in the Old Fruitmarket, Glasgow on 14 June 2012.

The nominations in full are:

Charity of the year
British Divers Marine Life Rescue
University of Strathclyde Law Clinic
Shelter Scotland
Alzheimer Scotland
CLAN Cancer Support
Impact Arts
Community Action
Skye and Lochalsh Young Carers
Windmills Café
Berwickshire Recreation Education Sports Trust
The Laggan Forest Trust
Charity Champion
James Gales
Jennefer Tobin
Maggie Lawson
Glyn Morris
Bill Learmonth
Campaign of the Year
Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents
Befriend a Child
Scottish Youth Parliament
British Red Cross
STV and the Hunter Foundation
Ecas and National Galleries of Scotland
Sue Ryder and Scottish Prison Service
Credit Unions of Glasgow Strategy Group
Scottish Premier League Trust and Glasgow University
Down’s Syndrome Scotland and the Celtic Foundation

STV Appeal is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation, number SC042429